Last Updated: Oct 16, 2014
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- Biological Sciences (ProQuest)
Interdisciplinary database which offers abstracts and citations, as well as figures and tables, to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture. Includes information on biomedical and health sciences, science, and science and technology. Coverage: 1971 - Present.
- BioMed Central (BioMed Central)
BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of 259 peer-reviewed open access journals. The portfolio of journals spans all areas of biology, biomedicine and medicine and includes broad interest titles, such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals, such as Retrovirology and BMC Genomics. All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely accessible online immediately upon publication.
- BioOne (BioOne)
BioOne is a global, not-for-profit collaboration bringing together scientific societies, publishers, and libraries to provide access to critical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
- ProQuest Biological Science Collection (ProQuest)
Contains biological science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Biological Sciences database. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, Biological Sciences provides access to literature from serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. Coverage: 1974 - Present.
- PubMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
Contains the National Library of Medicine's search service which provides access to over 11 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and other related databases, with links to participating online journals.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
ScienceDirect is a full text database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Online content includes journals, books and reference titles with multiple user access.
- Scopus (Elsevier)
Largest abstract and indexing database with access to around 15,000 peer-reviewed titles in health, sciences, engineering, social sciences, psychology, and economics. Scopus currently provides access to over 25 million abstracts with coverage dating back to 1966. A citation tracker feature has recently been released. All embase content is available via Scopus. Also indexes more than 1200 open access journals as well as linking with the Scirus search engine to provide access to many reputable institutional or subject repositories.
- Web of Science (Thomson Reuters)
Updated weekly. Allows cited reference searching to track a paper's influence. Contains Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Scitation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, SciELO Citation Index, InCites, Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators. Updated weekly, it allows users to search current and retrospective information from nearly 8,500 journals, across more than 230 disciplines. Also allows cited reference searching to track a paper's influence. Includes The Book Citation Index to help you search across books, journals and proceedings
- Wiley Online Library (John Wiley & Sons)
Provides online full text access to over 350 journals published by Wiley and Blackwell. Subjects covered include business, finance and management; chemistry; computer science; earth science; engineering; law life and medical sciences; mathematics and statistics; physics and psychology.