Last Updated: Oct 21, 2014
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- ACS Publications (American Chemical Society)
Currently over 40 peer-reviewed journals and magazines, along with books, are published or co-published by the Publications Division, in the area of chemistry, physics and biology, with subscribed titles being available in full text.
- CHEMnetBase (Taylor & Francis Group)
CHEMnetBASE provides fulltext online access to major reference resources in chemistry from CRC. Resources included are: Dictionary of Drugs Dictionary of Natural Products Dictionary of Organic and Organmetallic Compounds Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds The Handbook of Chemistry & Physics and Polymers.
- ChemWatch GoldFFX (ChemWatch)
**Access to this resource not currently available via mobile device.**
Uses a web-based database to provide access to Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) and draws from a library collection of more than 13 million MSDSs maintained by ChemWatch’s global database system. This program is configured into specific modules and respective functionalities. General access only to the Materials module.
- RSC Journals (Royal Society of Chemistry)
Scientific publisher of biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics high-impact journals and books. This resource includes access to peer-reviewed journals, magazines, books, databases and publishing services to the chemical science community. Coverage extends back to 1941.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
ScienceDirect is a full text database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Online content includes journals, books and reference titles with multiple user access.
- SciFinder Scholar (American Chemical Society) [first time user Registration]
SciFinder Scholar registration link.
- Web of Science (Thomson Reuters)
Updated weekly. Allows cited reference searching to track a paper's influence. Contains Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Scitation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, SciELO Citation Index, InCites, Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators. Updated weekly, it allows users to search current and retrospective information from nearly 8,500 journals, across more than 230 disciplines. Also allows cited reference searching to track a paper's influence. Includes The Book Citation Index to help you search across books, journals and proceedings