Last Updated: Oct 16, 2014
This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library Search Box.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- Best Practice (incorporating Clinical Evidence) (BMJ)
A point-of-care tool from the BMJ Evidence Centre designed to support clinicians in their decision making from diagnosis to treatment. Best Practice aims to be a readily accessible single source for up-to-date research evidence, guidelines, and expert thought, offering an instantly available second opinion. Clinical Evidence describes the best available evidence from systematic reviews, RTCs, and observational studies where appropriate. Drug information is provided via the database Martindale.
- Cochrane Library (John Wiley & Sons, Ltd.)
The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases.
- DynaMed (EBSCO)
DynaMed is a point-of-care reference work that outlines information relevant to the diagnosis and treatment of patients and evaluates the level of evidence supporting clinical interventions, including complementary and alternative interventions. DynaMed entries are dated and include references and acknowledgements, and material is added and revised daily.
- Embase (Wolters Kluwer)
Biomedical and pharmacological database containing bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals. Embase contains over 22 million records spanning 1947 to Present.
- Joanna Briggs Institute EBP (Ovid)
Joanna Briggs Institute evidence-based practice model is considered a benchmark in the healthcare industry—encouraging healthcare professionals to implement an effective evidence-based practice program to provide the best possible patient care. UWS institutional users have access to the JBI database and all of the JBI Tools. To start you need to create a “Personal Account” on OvidSP and link that personal account to a JBI Tools account (see information 'I' for further details).
- Medical Evidence Matters Archive (ProQuest)
Helps users choose the best therapy options for patients with a confirmed diagnosis. Quickly find and analyse highly relevant, published, and peer-reviewed evidence to answer individual patient-oriented questions. Results are organised into summary graphs and tables enabling users to assess the evidence and determine the best form of treatment.
- Nursing Reference Center (EBSCO)
Provides access to high quality, recent clinical evidence and knowledge on conditions and diseases, patient education, and drug and reference information from top publishers. As a point-of-care reference tool, this database provides access to thousands of full text documents, covering diseases and conditions, labs and diagnostics, as well as drug and reference information. It also features best practices guidelines, continuing education modules, and patient education information.
- PubMed Clinical Queries (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
Not all of the articles included in MEDLINE are evidence-based. Special search strategies and techniques are needed to filter through the millions of MEDLINE references to find the articles that can be considered the best evidence. The PubMed Clinical Query filters provide a quick way to use pre-defined filters for selecting MEDLINE studies in four areas: therapy, diagnosis, etiology and prognosis. Another filter on the Clinical Queries page will quickly search for systematic reviews on a topic.