Linda Thornely - Computing, Engineering & Mathematics Librarian | firstname.lastname@example.org | Ph: +612 9852 5907
Last Updated: Oct 16, 2014
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- AccessEngineering (McGraw-Hill)
AccessEngineering offers the widest and deepest repository of fully searchable engineering content available online - from the authors and industry-leading titles engineers have trusted and depended on for years. Focused around 14 major areas of engineering, AccessEngineering features a new taxonomy book view offering comprehensive coverage and faster title-by-title access to our engineering collection. Includes 250 engineering books, 690+ instructional, faculty made videos, Excel spreadsheet calculator tools, 3900+ interactive tables and charts, as well as personalisation tools allowing users to organise crucial project information as they work.
- Engineering Village (Compendex) (Elsevier)
The most comprehensive bibliographic database of research literature for engineering, computing, mathematics and related disciplines. The database contains references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences. Coverage : 1884 - current.
- ENGINE - Australian Engineering Database (Informit, RMIT)
Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts published and unpublished material on Australian engineering information, particularly information published by the Institution since 1980. Includes all branches of engineering including agricultural, aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, coastal, computer, earthquake, education, electrical, electronic, geotechnical, management, materials, mechanical, military, ocean, railway, structural, transport, tunnelling and water. Produced by the Institution of Engineers, Australia. Coverage: 1980 - Present.
- IEEE Xplore (IEEE)
Comprehensive collection of standards and over 400,000 papers from periodicals and conferences published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). Coverage: 1988 - current.
- Engineering Collection (RMIT)
Covers a range of subjects within an engineering context including civil engineering, mining, environmental engineering, road and rail, and municipal engineering. This full text Collection contains journals, conference proceedings and reports. Full text publications: 1973 - Present; Index: 1973 - Present.
- Standards On-line Premium (SAI Global)
Provides access to the full contents of all current Australian standards, draft standards and most handbooks published by Standards Australia. It includes a section on International standards, and provides industry links to regional and local bodies, as well as international bodies. Frequency: Updated monthly. Access is restricted to 2 concurrent users.
- ASTM International Standards Collection (IHS)
Access to over 11,800 current Standards from the American Society for Testing and Materials.
- ProQuest Central (ProQuest)
Business research database which includes full‐text journals and titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, periodical, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market and industry reports. Includes all content found in ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Research, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Archive. Coverage: 1971 - Present.
- Knovel (Elsevier)
A collection of over 1600 reference ebook titles in science and engineering. Titles are from the world's leading scientific publishers and professional societies such as American Institute of Chemical Engineers, American Society of Mechanical Engineers, Elsevier, Industrial Press, John Wiley, McGraw Hill and Springer. Topics covered include: adhesives, coating, sealers and inks; aerospace and radar technology; biochemistry, biology and biotechnology, ceramics and ceramic engineering, chemistry and chemistry engineering; civil engineering and construction materials; earth sciences; electrical and power engineering; electronics and semiconductors; environment and environmental engineering; food science; general engineering and project administration; mechanics and mechanical engineering; metals and metallurgy; oil and gas engineering; pharmaceuticals, cosmetics and toiletries; plastics and rubber; safety and industrial hygiene; and textiles.