Last Updated: Oct 29, 2014
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
Collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature including publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association. Also provides full text for more than 300 books/monographs. Topics covered include nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, and book chapters. Coverage: 1937 - Present.
- MEDLINE without Revisions 1996 to Present (Wolters Kluwer)
Indexes articles from approximately 3.600 journals in medicine, nursing, life sciences, human health and the environment, toxicology, nutrition and other health related topics. Also indexes a selection of conference proceedings. International coverage. Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Includes abstracts. Updated weekly. Coverage: 1966 - Present.
- Cochrane Library (John Wiley & Sons, Ltd.)
The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. This database includes AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which includes Drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers.
- Health Collection (RMIT)
Covers a range of subjects within a health context including ageing and age care, child health and breastfeeding, indigenous health issues, mental health and rehabilitation, therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health, mental health, complementary therapies, and health services management. This full text Collection contains journals, books, conference proceedings and reports. Full text publications: 1977 - Present; Index: 1977 - Present.
- Embase (Wolters Kluwer)
Biomedical and pharmacological database containing bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals. Embase contains over 22 million records spanning 1947 to Present.
- PubMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
Contains the National Library of Medicine's search service which provides access to over 11 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and other related databases, with links to participating online journals.
- DynaMed (EBSCO)
DynaMed is a point-of-care reference work that outlines information relevant to the diagnosis and treatment of patients and evaluates the level of evidence supporting clinical interventions, including complementary and alternative interventions. DynaMed entries are dated and include references and acknowledgements, and material is added and revised daily.
- Joanna Briggs Institute EBP (Ovid)
Joanna Briggs Institute evidence-based practice model is considered a benchmark in the healthcare industry—encouraging healthcare professionals to implement an effective evidence-based practice program to provide the best possible patient care. UWS institutional users have access to the JBI database and all of the JBI Tools. To start you need to create a “Personal Account” on OvidSP and link that personal account to a JBI Tools account (see information 'I' for further details).